50 Shades of Romance

 

Toast your love at the award-winning Kawartha Country Winery sampling bar on County Road 36 near Buckhorn (www.kawarthacountrywines.ca)

Take a spin with free skating under the Peterborough Lift Lock, ice permitting (http://www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/visit6/lock21a.aspx)

Hike hand in hand along the 44 kms of Trans Canada Trail through the City of Kawartha Lakes http://www.kawarthatranscanadatrail.ca/map/map.html

Snuggle up fireside in your chalet at Westwind Resort on Lower Buckhorn Lake (www.westwindinn.net)

It’ll be “Oowatanite” as you set the stage for romance with Myles Goodwin and April Wine at the Academy Theatre in Lindsay, February 23rd (academytheatre.ca)

Have a hell of a good time learning to ski or snowboard at Devil’s Elbow ski resort in Bethany (www.devilselbow.com)

Roll into the Snofest snowman contest at the Peterborough Winter Carnival on January 19th (www.peterboroughsnofest.ca)

Wrap yourself in a full body hot chocolate treatment at the Ste. Anne’s Spa in Grafton (www.steannes.com/hydrating-hot-chocolate-wrap.html)

Really get back to nature with a hike into the preserved wilderness of Kawartha Highlands Provincial Park near Apsley (www.ontario-canada-travel.com/kawartha-highlands-provincial-park.html#.UJq_rMRYupk)

Get steamy with a cuppa jo at the Kawartha Coffee Co. Bakery _ Café in Bobcaygeon (www.kawarthacoffee.com)

Score big with “his and her” tickets to the Peterborough Petes at the Memorial Centre (www.gopetesgo.com)

Walk down the aisle at the Church Key Brewery at Pethericks Corners near Campbellford (www.churchkeybrewing.com)

Glide into fun with iceboating at the Pigeon Lake Yacht Club (http://www.pigeonlakeyachtclub.com)

Read “50 Shades of Grey” to each other at the ultra romantic Dunsford House at Eganridge estate on Sturgeon Lake (www.eganridge.com)

Linger over a bottle of SEXY from Portugal at Pane Vino Trattoria and Wine Bar in Lindsay (www.panevino.ca)

Port Hope

Be a little bad at “Red Riding Hood, The Naughty Version” every Friday and Saturday through December at the Capitol Theatre in Port Hope (www.capitoltheatre.com/content/theatre)

Peak her rate of interest with an overnight and dinner at the charming Carlyle Inn and Bistro in the original Bank of Canada building on John Street in Port Hope (www.carlyleinnandbistro.com)

Buy both of the above and double your pleasure for only $365 per couple for a luxury overnight package (www.capitoltheatre.com/content/theatre)

Enjoy some pre-dinner “horsin’ around” with a free wagon ride through the Heritage District on Saturdays during December

Get that twinkle in your eye with a walk through the beautiful Christmas lights on display in Memorial Park

Paint the town romantic red at the Lindsay (lindsayartgallery.wordpress.com) or Peterborough Art Galleries (www.agp.on.ca)

Make your own love paddle at the Canadian Canoe Museum in Peterborough (www.canoemuseum.ca)

Take your relationship to new heights with a hot air balloon ride over Rice Lake at Uptuit Balloons (www.uptuitballoons.com)

Lure your valentine into a day of frozen fun snuggling together while ice fishing with Dalrymple Dock _ Leisure in Kirkfield.

(www.dalrympledockandleisure.ca/lake-dalrymple-ice-hut-rentals)

Take your sweetheart to the Warkworth Maple Syrup Festival at Sandy Flat Sugar Bush on March 9th and 10th (www.warkworthmaplesyrupfestival.ca)

Get your love life cookin’ with a weekend culinary class at South Pond Farms B_B in Pontypool near Bethany (www.southpondfarms.ca)

Take a “roll in the hay” on a luxurious bed in a real barn overnight at Adam Farm in Trent Hills (www.adamfarm.ca)

Frolic in the woods on cross-country skis at the Kawartha Nordic Ski Club (www.kawarthanordic.ca)

Slip into something more comfortable at The Lingerie Loft on Kent St in Lindsay

Treat your lover like royalty at the historic Victoria Inn in Gores Landing on Rice Lake (www.thevictoriainn.ca)

Pine Vista

Valentines is the perfect weekend to enjoy a cozy cabin with a whirlpool bath, fireplace, complimentary wine, strawberries and chocolate at Pine Vista Resort on Stoney Lake (www.pinevista.com)

Pine Vista is also the ideal place to serenade each other with “Jingle Bells” in your two-horse open sleigh ride.

Wake up at Elmhirst’s Resort near Keene and delight in the spread of their famous Sunday brunch (www.elmhirst.ca)

Shopping together is especially fun at the eclectic End of the Thread Marketplace, Bakery and Café in Brighton (www.endofthethread.com)

Shower your love with a side-by-side hydrotherapy treatment at the Spa on Hunter at Euphoria in Peterborough (www.spaonhunterateuphoria.com)

If the way to your lover’s heart is through their stomach, the 7-Course Tasting Menu at the Inn at Mount Julian is the way to go. Make this fine dining experience part of an overnight stay at Viamede Resort (www.viamede.com)

Improve your lava life with a tour of the ice volcanoes along the shores of Presqu’ile Provincial Park in January and February (www.friendsofpresquile.on.ca)

Get in great shape at a pottery and sculpture class from Gail West at the English Potter in Lakefield (www.englishpotter.com)

With twelve antique shops situated between Port Hope, Cobourg and Peterborough, you’ll have lots of old fun with a new flame (www.yellowpages.ca/search/si/1/Antique+Dealers/Port+Hope+ON)

Grab a copy of Casablanca, Wall-E and When Harry Met Sally and head to the luxurious Irwin Inn for a weekend of classic Hollywood romance on the south shore of Stoney Lake (www.irwininn.com)

Star gaze with your little chickadee amid the 25-acre wooded property surrounding the Claire de Lune B_B on the shores of Pigeon Lake (www.clairedelune.ca)

A romp in the woods at Ganaraska Forest or horseback riding at Maple Crescent Farm is the ideal prelude to a night at the Woodland Gardens B_B in Garden Hill (www.bbcanada.com/woodlandgardens)

Fenelon Falls

Put some real power in your dashing through the snow with a day of snow mobiling from Fenelon Falls Marina (www.fenelonmarina.com). 

Once outfitted, hit the Victoria Rail Trail (www.ontariotrails.on.ca/trails-a-z/victoria-rail-trail-corridor) for a day of fun. 

After your day on the trails, warm up by the fire at The Lakehouse Restaurant in Fenelon Falls (www.lakehousefenelon.com)

Treat your lover like a king or queen at the Royal Resort, where you can soak up the memories of a great day in your room with fireplace and private whirlpool (www.royalresort.com)

Butter up your sweetie with a weekend making all the stops on the official Butter Tart Tour through The Kawarthas and Northumberland (www.ourfavouriteplace.ca)

A warm embrace in the historic charm of downtown Peterborough awaits gay couples where you’ll find many fabulous shops and restaurants proudly under the rainbow (www.peterboroughpride.ca)

Lace each other up and go skating under the stars in downtown Cobourg. The free public rink is located behind Victoria Hall and offers an outstanding view of Lake Ontario.

Find fresh and better tasting ingredients for an ultra romantic meal in some of the many farms and markets selling Kawartha Choice FarmFresh (www.kawarthachoice.com/find-local-products/farms) and Proudly Northumberland products (www.proudlynorthumberland.ca/farmgate/map.aspx)